Coinbase

Author Topic: Ads displayed twice  (Read 5766 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Count

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • Email
Ads displayed twice
« on: September 05, 2006, 12:38:53 pm »
I just installed SMF 1.1 RC3 and Ads mod, and everything works just fine but all the ads are displayed twice. Regular small banners appear side-by-side if they fit on the screen, if they don't, the second one is below the first. What's causing this? Note that I'm rather new to SMF so if it's something blindingly obvious, just shoot me :)

Offline bigguy

  • Support
  • Elite Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1518
    • SMF Helper
Re: Ads displayed twice
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2006, 04:00:34 pm »
Do you have all the options set to on in the ad management. If so this might be why they show twice.

Offline Count

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • Email
Re: Ads displayed twice
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2006, 12:30:11 am »
Nope, if I choose "Show ads on every page right below the menu" and nothing else, the ad appears twice. Display ads on board index - appears twice. Thread index - appears twice. Get my drift?
Other packages I've installed are: Contact Page 1.0, Trim Url 1.0.1, Googlebot and spiders mod 2.0.0.

And one thing I forgot - when I have two (or more) ads enabled to the same spot (like welcome area) then the two ads displayed at the same time can be different ads or same ads, but always there are two.

You can go and check it out - I have currently three different ads enabled to the welcome area. Forum url is http://www.atomimiilu.fi/ (And no, it's not yet officially open as you can see from the lack of content :))
« Last Edit: September 06, 2006, 12:39:35 am by Count »

Offline bigguy

  • Support
  • Elite Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1518
    • SMF Helper
Re: Ads displayed twice
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2006, 10:23:44 am »
Then it sounds like the edits are there twice in the files that have been edited.

Offline Count

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • Email
Re: Ads displayed twice
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2006, 11:45:19 am »
Then it sounds like the edits are there twice in the files that have been edited.

Hmm, I wonder how that could've happened? I guess there's no check for that?
I checked and you are correct, index.template.php had everything twice. I must've messed something up  ::)

Are there any other files I should check for doubles?

Offline bigguy

  • Support
  • Elite Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1518
    • SMF Helper
Re: Ads displayed twice
« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2006, 07:24:19 pm »
Open the "install.xml" file and check in there for template names to check.

Offline mrvegas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • Email
Re: Ads displayed twice
« Reply #6 on: November 12, 2006, 01:46:37 pm »
crap this has happened to me too....  :'(

So is there a way to automaticaly remove these lines like the install of the mod placed them?

I think what might of happened is that I had a previous version installed and I upgraded the forum and it quit working. then I just installed it again. So Im thinking the code from the previous version was still there...

well isnt this just dandy.

also...
Bigguy, are you the same peroson as at jamroom?

Offline bigguy

  • Support
  • Elite Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1518
    • SMF Helper
Re: Ads displayed twice
« Reply #7 on: November 12, 2006, 03:42:07 pm »
@ Count: Check all the template files in the theme you are currently using.

@ mrvegas: No I am not, sorry.

Offline wickedstangs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Ads displayed twice
« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2006, 02:19:06 pm »
Happened to me too. What I did was not install the display.template.php and installed everthing esle and it worked.

Offline 5678

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Join my forum.
    • Razzle Dazzle Deals
Re: Ads displayed twice
« Reply #9 on: November 28, 2006, 11:47:45 am »
i have same problem, check here for example

Quote
I checked and you are correct, index.template.php had everything twice

how do i check the ((( index.template.php file ))) for the double code? do i do this via my host cpanel or within my forums admin panel?

please advise.

missy.

Offline bigguy

  • Support
  • Elite Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1518
    • SMF Helper
Re: Ads displayed twice
« Reply #10 on: November 28, 2006, 07:28:21 pm »
Download the index.template.php file to your desktop via ftp and open it with an editor like PHP designer 2007 (google that) and see if the code is in there twice. You can search for the code using the editor. You can find the code posted here for each template file in the themes board.

Offline Hendricius

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • http://www.d3scene.com
    • Email
Re: Ads displayed twice
« Reply #11 on: March 23, 2007, 08:33:09 am »
have exactly the same error.

« Last Edit: March 23, 2007, 08:36:28 am by Hendricius »

Offline bigguy

  • Support
  • Elite Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1518
    • SMF Helper
Re: Ads displayed twice
« Reply #12 on: March 28, 2007, 11:23:51 am »
Check your modifications.english.php file, maybe edits were added there twice.

SMF Ads Support Forum

Re: Ads displayed twice
« Reply #12 on: March 28, 2007, 11:23:51 am »
.

 

.