SMF Ads Support Forum

Support => Ad Support => Topic started by: krausen on September 03, 2007, 08:37:56 pm

Title: Personal Banner
Post by: krausen on September 03, 2007, 08:37:56 pm
I know there have been numerous topics on this and I have a head ache from trying to figure this out.   I have ZERO coding knowledge and have been looking at numerous html websites trying to figure this out.

Can someone tell me in complete idiots terms how I can take a php banner I have saved on my computer and transfer it to content so it will display on my forum??

Thanks for being patient with me.
Title: Re: Personal Banner
Post by: jerm on September 04, 2007, 10:34:17 pm
php banner? What do you mean? Do you have code, and if so what is it?
Title: Re: Personal Banner
Post by: krausen on September 05, 2007, 08:58:52 am
Let me think of how I can explain it better.   I have a banner.  Right now it is just a photo saved on my computer.  I want to add it to SMF using the Ads program but I do not have the content to make it a live banner.  I am hoping someone could explain to me how to make the content so the banner can be live.   I have zero code experience besides just copying what others have informed me to do.

Sorry if I am not explaining this well, not sure what the right terms are for this.
Title: Re: Personal Banner
Post by: Matt J on September 05, 2007, 10:44:00 am
I am interested in this topic also.

I just installed the Ad Mgmt mod and I want to start adding Ad's but I'm not sure how to format them in HTML to make it work...

can someone possible link some of "normal" code for a banner at the top, under the navigation bar, etc. so that maybe we can use the same code and just insert or jpg's or gif's?

sorry if this is on the wrong track, like the other poster I don't have any experience with code
Title: Re: Personal Banner
Post by: Matt J on September 05, 2007, 10:47:19 am
I just took notice that the banner on this page is a 500 x 100 png

is this the best file type for me to change my banner into?
Title: Re: Personal Banner
Post by: krausen on September 05, 2007, 11:37:23 am
Here is the code I am using for the banner.   It just shows up as a box with a X in it currently.

<a href="http://www.gotkf.com/">
<img border="0" src="/images/banner.php.png" width="150" height="50">
</a>

What am I missing?
Title: Re: Personal Banner
Post by: jerm on September 05, 2007, 09:20:09 pm
This part is probably wrong: src="/images/banner.php.png"
Use the full path to the image.
Title: Re: Personal Banner
Post by: krausen on September 05, 2007, 10:30:03 pm
that fixed it.   Thanks a bunch.